top of page

Handmade Sculpting

HANDMADE SCULPTING

[verb with object] To create or represent something by carving, casting, or other shaping techniques. (The Oxford English Dictionary)

I chose clay as an artistic material when I went to university in South Korea. I got the opportunity to use it by chance. I got inspiration during an exchange student program at NYC and, after that course and traveling, I did more positive work with clay than before.

I came to London to study artwork at Royal College of Art. The ‘Jug, 2017’ is my first body of work created during my MA Ceramics & Glass. It derives from an ancient Cyprus jug found in the ceramics collection at the Victoria and Albert Museum. I studied the act of mark-making and developed a series of forms that could translate the ancient jug into a contemporary context. The forms in the piece originate from the subtle carafe form found on the initial object. The body is slip cast and then thrown on the wheel to transform the rim and the lim. The length of the neck is stretched to aid the ease of use.

In ancient times, humans created tools from their natural surroundings. Today, however, there is the possibility of new technology and digital tools. I transfer my drawings to digital images and create decals to bring the clay surface to life. Throughout the process of ‘Jug, 2017’, I developed new ways of working. I used plaster lathe for mould making, transferred my hand drawn designs to decals, and used hand-building skills to develop new forms. It was like expressing a new creative language within my studio practice.

Nowadays we can see advanced technology easily. It can help our daily life that we get faster and convenient and also workplace. In Ceramics fields, there are various ways for making ceramics. Technology leads the industrial field of ceramics factories to produce quickly and innovatively. However, there is something missing; something human that used to shape the art form, both literally and figuratively.

Clay has character in its plasticity. It is a good material for experimenting and expression. This experience is more valuable than just making something in a factory for a dinner set. The most beautiful part of my ceramics is the form. I keep researching it and I keep finding more information. My design always considers matching the form with the material characteristics. Clay provides great potential.

Comments


bottom of page