top of page

Alcohol

ALCOHOL

[mass noun] (1) A colourless volatile flammable liquid which is produced by the natural fermentation of sugars and is the intoxicating constituent of wine, beer, spirits, and other drinks; also used as an industrial solvent and as fuel. (The Oxford English Dictionary)

I can’t remember the last time I had a “catch-up” with one of my friends without a glass of wine glued to my hand. As ashamed as I am to admit this, the truth of the matter is that alcohol is at the heart of my social life. Whether it is having fancy dinners as a restaurant with drinks, a movie night with the girls, or having a wild night out, alcohol is always invited. If alcohol were to become illegal tomorrow, I would feel extremely lost at the weekend and I don’t think I’d be alone. This would probably send the whole country into chaos. How could Parliament make alcohol illegal, when it has been one of the most essential social attributes and has been legal since its existence? Even Jesus instructed his worshipers to remember him by drinking wine and eating some bread. Maybe it is impossible and that’s why as long as you are over the age of 18 you can freely go wherever you like and consume this intoxicant.

Some of the best memories of my life are from the nights were I had been drinking, and some of the worst. I cannot ignore the horrible feeling I get the day after I have been drinking where my anxiety becomes worse than usual. Unhappy thoughts become more apparent than ever. I cannot deny the feeling that I’ve put my body through hell with the amount of drinks consumed.

This leads me to think: why do the U.K. law enforcements believe substances such as cocaine – which have similar risks as alcohol – are illegal yet alcohol itself is legal? Okay, okay, we’ve already been through this; it might be near enough impossible. However, why has there not been enough done to limit alcohol consumption. Similarly to alcohol, cigarettes have been legal since they came into existence yet the development of medical science and the subsequent discover of their damaging effects has made parliament try to set barriers to prevent smoking and reduce the smoker population. In 2006, it became illegal to smoke in enclosed public spaces and at work places. In 2005, it became illegal to smoke in a car where there are passengers under the age of 18. Finally, in 2016, it became a legal requirement that all cigarette packages had to become plain with only deterring graphic images being presented. TV programmes are also advised not to show people smoking to prevent any wrong influences on younger viewers. Therefore, why have the same prevention measures not been applied to alcohol?

So my question for you is: is it time to start scrutinizing and restricting alcohol? While I wait for you to think about this, I am going to pour myself a large glass of Pinot Grigio. My favourite.

Comentários


bottom of page